Sign Up for Events العربية

Kuwait Prize 2022

Nominations Deadline: Wednesday, 31st August 2022

Click here for the:

The Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Sciences (KFAS) awards distinguished Kuwaiti and Arab scientists worldwide the Kuwait Prize for their significant and outstanding achievements in research since 1979. While the main areas in various scientific fields remain consistent, the scientific subfields under these areas vary annually.
For the 2022 Kuwait Prize Cycle, KFAS invites universities, scientific and research institutions, and eligible individuals, to nominate Kuwaiti and Arab scientists for the Prize in the following scientific subfields:

  • Fundamental Sciences: In Basic Medical Sciences (including but not limited to): Anatomy, Physiology, Human Genetics; Cytology, Pathology, Toxicology and Pharmacy.
  • Applied Sciences: In Clean & Sustainable Energy Technology (including but not limited to): Solar, Wind and Hydroelectric Energy, Biomass Energy, Fuel Cells, Energy Storage, Lower Fossil Carbon-Footprints Fuel.
  • Economics and Social Sciences: In Economics, Financial & Banking Sciences (including but not limited to): Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Development, Business, Monetary Economics, Public Finance, Corporate, Entrepreneurial Finance, e-Commerce, Venture Capital and Financial Technology.
  • Humanities, Arts and Literature: In Arabic Literature & Art (including but not limited to): Critical Analysis of Modern & Ancient Arabic Literary Texts (Poetry, Drama, Narratives), Critical Theories, History of Arabic Literature, Literature of Specific Arab Countries, Studies in Arabic Cinema, Music and Formative arts.
  • Emerging Interdisciplinary Sciences: In Nanoscience & Nanotechnology & Applications (including but not limited to): The Study & Understanding of Physical & Chemical Phenomena at the Nanoscale, The Design & Production of Nano Structured Materials & Devices at the Nanoscale, The Applications of Nanoscience & Nanoengineering, Applications of Nano Technology in the Areas of Science, Medicine and Engineering.

KFAS awards an annual Prize cash sum of K.D. 40,000 (Approx. $135,000) for each subfield, along with a gold medal, a KFAS shield and a certificate of recognition.

Conditions and requirements:

  1. KFAS accepts nominations from universities, academic and research institutions, former laureates of the Kuwait Prize, and peers of the nominees. Nominations from political entities are not accepted.
  2. KFAS accepts self-nominations. Self- nominees must provide a statement outlining the basis for their eligibility for nomination and the significance of their research production.
  3. The nominee must be from an Arab nationality and have proof of Arabic origin, such as an Arabic birth certificate, a valid Arabic passport, or a relevant document. A copy of one of these documents must be included in the application file.
  4. The nominee must be a recognized specialist and researcher in the announced subfield and must hold a PhD degree. Applicants for the Fundamental Sciences (who do not hold a PhD degree) must hold the Medical fellowship and/or Medical Board.
  5. KFAS will accept self-nominations. Nominees must provide a list of references, three academics/researchers and one scientific institution.
  6. The work submitted should be innovative, significant in the announced subfield, and published during the past twenty years. Submitted work include papers published or accepted for publication in refereed Journals, and books with ISBN or ISSN number (authored, translated, edited, and chapter in a book). MA or PhD theses and any publications extracted from them shall not be evaluated as part of the nominee’s scientific work.
  7. Nominees are requested to complete the Prize Nomination Form and send it along with the submitted work electronically. The Nomination Form for the subfields in Fundamental Sciences and Applied Sciences should be submitted in English.
  8. The Nomination Form along with scientific publications and achievements completed within the past twenty years should be sent in PDF format, through the cloud storage services sites such as (Google Drive–Dropbox–OneDrive) via Prize email:
  9. KFAS decisions concerning The Kuwait Prize are final and objections are not accepted.
  10. Nominations must be submitted no later than Wednesday, 31st August 2022.

For further information and inquiries, please contact the Prize Office: Tel: +965 22270465 ; E-Mail: